Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya did exceedingly well to take the game into the final over but their unbeaten 63-run stand off 28 balls was not enough and online fans picked on Karthik.
Dinesh Karthik during the match
India’s Dinesh Karthik was horribly trolled on social media yesterday after he refused to take a single in the last over. With India needing 16 runs off the final over, Karthik (33 not out off 16) took a double off the first ball, following which the umpire did not give what seemed to be a clear wide.
Then, Karthik stunned the crowd and Krunal by refusing to take a single off the third ball. Krunal (26 not out off 30) had reached the striker’s end after Karthik got one away straight, but the latter did not run and sent his partner back. Karthik could only manage a single off the next ball. Krunal then took a single after which Karthik hit a six off the last ball but India fell four short of NZ’s 212/4.
Karthik and Krunal did exceedingly well to take the game into the final over but their unbeaten 63-run stand off 28 balls was not enough and online fans picked on Karthik.
“Mr. Dinesh Karthik you are not MS DHONI to deny a single and then finish with sixes. You might have done it once but you can’t do it every time like MS does,” wrote one online follower on Twitter.
“What was DK’s point in refusing the single? It’s not like he was batting with a tailender who couldn’t have hit a 6. Krunal had just as much chance of clearing the boundary as DK. This “misjudgement” might perhaps cost him a potential World Cup spot,” added another.
This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever